Ashby Writers


This is the website for Ashby Writers' Club in which Writers from the area of Ashby de la Zouch discuss their writing, hold writing competitions and entertain guest speakers.

Ashby Writers’ Committee

Chair: Mark Taylor

Vice-chair: Kate Mainder

Secretary: Diane Buxton

Treasurer: Samantha Ridgway

Assistant Treasurer: Helen Bralesford

Programme secretary: David Bell

Members’ Representatives: Mike Arblaster

Programme 2019

8th Jan manuscript meeting – members’ own work

22nd Jan Wendy Freer “A Step on the Ladder” (and other films)

12th Feb comp: poem up to 30 lines, on a theme of “Folly”

26th Feb Annual General Meeting

12th Mar manuscript meeting – members’ own work

26th Mar tba

9th Apr manuscript meeting – members’ own work

23rd Apr speaker: Ann Featherston: “Storm in a Teacup.” The Picadilly Circus waitress’s

strike of 1908

14th May manuscript meeting – members’ own work

28th May speaker: Erin Green (aka Bernadette O’Dwyer). Writer of “women’s fiction.”

(what was once called romantic fiction, but Headline have renamed it).

11th June manuscript meeting – members’ own work


Meetings second and fourth Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise specified 7.30pm-9.30pm at Congregational Church, Kilwardby St, Ashby LE65 2FQ.

See 'Location'  tab in menu for how to find us.

Membership £10 per annum

Visitors are welcome at a nominal fee of £4 per speaker meeting, £3 per comp/manuscript meeting (includes coffee or tea)